## Council



## Minutes of the special meeting held on Thursday 29 March 2012 at 6.00 pm

Present:-Councillor Carolyn Heaps (Mayor) in the Chair

Councillors Margaret Bannister, Colin Belsey, Alun Cooke, David Elkin, Nigel Goodyear, Jon Harris, Pat Hearn, Sandie Howlett, Tom Liddiard, Colin Murdoch, Jim Murray, Alan Shuttleworth, Neil Stanley, Barry Taylor, Troy Tester, Mike Thompson, David Tutt, John Ungar, Steve Wallis, Patrick Warner and Annabelle West.

- **64. Minutes.** The minutes of the meeting held on 22 February 2012 were presented and the Mayor was authorised to sign them as a correct record.
- **65. Apologies for absence.** Apologies for absence were reported from Councillors Coles, Ede, Jenkins, Mattock and Miah.
- **66. Honorary Aldermen** The following motion was proposed by Councillor Tutt and seconded by Councillor Elkin:

"That the Council, in exercise of their powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972:-

(1) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Beryl Anne Healy** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 30 September 1993 until her retirement on 8 May 2006.

**NOTE:** Councillor Bannister and Councillor Ungar addressed the Council in support of the award to Beryl Healy

(2) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Bert Leggett B.A.** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 15 December 1983 until his retirement on 22 April 2004.

**NOTE:** Councillor Shuttleworth and Councillor Tester addressed the Council ir support of the award to Bert Leggett

(3) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman upon **Mary Anne Pooley** wh has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of th Eastbourne Borough Council from 7 May 1990 until her retirement on 9 May 2011.

**NOTE:** Councillor Thompson and Councillor Hearn addressed the Council in support of the award to Mary Pooley

(4) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Olive Marian Mary** 

**Woodall** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 6 May 1991 until her retirement on 9 May 2011."

**NOTE:** Councillor Stanley and Councillor Thompson addressed the Council in support of the award to Olive Woodall

Mr Stephen Lloyd MP addressed the Council in support of all the above proposals.

**Resolved:** That the motion be approved.

**67. Honorary Aldermen** – The following motion was proposed by Councillor Elkin and seconded by Councillor Tutt:

"That the Council, in exercise of their powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act, 1972:-

(1) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Barbara Mary Verene Goodall** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 6 May 1991 until 4 May 1995 and again from 3 September 1998 until her retirement on 9 May 2011.

**NOTE:** Councillor Howlett and Councillor Belsey addressed the Council in support of the award to Barbara Goodall

(2) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Graham Harvey Marsden D.L.C., B.Ed., M.A.** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 6 May 1991 until his retirement on 9 May 2011.

**NOTE:** Alderman Higgins and Councillor West addressed the Council in support of the award to Graham Marsden

(3) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **Ann Patricia Murray** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 9 May 1988 until her retirement on 7 May 2007.

**NOTE:** Mr Graham Marsden and Councillor Warner addressed the Council in support of the award to Ann Murray

(4) Do confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon **David Guy Stevens M.A.** who has in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as a member of the Eastbourne Borough Council from 5 May 1983 until his retirement on 7 May 2007."

**NOTE:** Councillor Taylor and Alderman Vickers addressed the Council in support of the award to David Stevens

Mr Stephen Lloyd MP addressed the Council in support of all the above

proposals.

**Resolved:** That the motion be approved.

The meeting closed at 7.45pm

## Councillor Carolyn Joan Heaps, Mayor, Chairman

(pf:council\12.03.29\mins)